The field of candidates for November city council races in three Sonoma County cities became final Friday while the deadline in the remaining six cities was extended until Wednesday.

All incumbents in Cloverdale, Petaluma and Rohnert Park filed the proper paperwork to qualify for the Nov. 6 election by 5 p.m. Friday, thus closing the filing window for all potential candidates in those cities.

In Rohnert Park, council members Gina Belforte, Joseph Callinan and Jake Mackenzie will run unopposed.

Petaluma council members Mike Healy, Tiffany Renee and Gabe Kearney will seek re-election but they'll face challengers Kathy Miller, Alicia Kae Herries and Jason Davies.

Cloverdale incumbents Robert Cox and Gus Wolter will vie for re-election to their two seats. Mary Ann Brigham, a past councilwoman, is the lone challenger.

Final candidate lists in the remaining cities will become official at 5 p.m. Wednesday.

In Santa Rosa, 11 people took out papers for four seats but only five so far have returned the necessary paperwork by Friday. They were Mayor Ernesto Olivares, Councilman Gary Wysocky and challengers Caroline Banuelos, Shaan Vandenburg, Mike Cook and Hans Dippel. Councilwoman Marsha Vas Dupre will not seek another term and John Sawyer is running for county supervisor.

Incumbents are barred from entering the race during the deadline extension period.

So far in Cotati, council members Susan Harvey and John Dell'Osso are on the ballot and face challengers George Barich and Wendy Skillman. Incumbent Janet Orchard did not file to run after 12 years on the council.

In Healdsburg, incumbents Tom Chambers and Gary Plass qualified. So far, Vern Simmons and Shaun McCaffrey have filed to run. Incumbent Steve Babb will not seek re-election.

In Sebastopol, councilwoman Kathleen Shaffer is on the ballot. Incumbent Guy Wilson did not file. Challengers so far are Kathy Austin, John Eder and Colleen Fernald.

In Sonoma, incumbent Laurie Gallian so far faces three challengers in the race for two seats: David Cook, Cameron Stuckey and Madolyn Agrimonti. Joanne Sanders didn't file for re-election.

Finally, in Windsor incumbent Debora Fudge will be on the ballot along with challenger Bruce Okrepkie. Incumbent Cheryl Scholar will not run.

(You can reach Staff Writer Paul Payne at 568-5312 or

Read all of the PD's fire coverage here