Winner: Floyd Landis

The finish line: Landis, the first Tour of California champion,

capped his fourth day in the leader's jersey cruising in the lead

pack through the 123.1-kilometer Redondo Beach Circuit course while

his Phonak teammates controlled the field.

In Santa Rosa, Stage 1: Levi Leipheimer started the day with the

leader's jersey, earned in the Prologue stage the previous day in

San Francisco. He rode the 129.1-km course from Sausalito to his

hometown, Santa Rosa, in front of cheering fans and his

Gerolstenier team protected his lead.


Winner: Levi Leipheimer

The finish line: With a comfortable cushion, Leipheimer kept his

lead over the 124.7-km Long Beach circuit course to win the Tour of

California, leading from start to finish.

In Santa Rosa, Stage 1: As in the previous year, Leipheimer rode

the State 1 route from Sausalito to his hometown in the leader's

jersey. He kept the jersey, but it wasn't easy. A huge pileup of

bikes and riders on the second of three circuits through the city

put Leipheimer in a huge hole, but the college of commissaires

stepped in after the race and said they'd extended the UCI's usual

3-kilometer neutral rule for timing the riders to the site of the

crash, about 10 kilometers from the finish.

In Santa Rosa, Stage 2: Starting from Santa Rosa, Leipheimer

maintained his lead on the 187-km ride and was greeted by Gov.

Arnold Schwarzenegger in Sacramento.


Winner: Levi Leipheimer

The finish line: Leipheimer's Astana team kept him comfortably near

the front of the 93-mile stage from Santa Clarita to Pasadena and

protected the lead he took in Stage 3. Most of the third Tour of

California, including the final stage, was marked by hard rains.

In Santa Rosa, Stage 1: Fabian Cancellara kept the overall lead;

his CSC teammate Juan Jose Haedo controlled the field sprint to the

finish of the 97-mile route from Sausalito to Santa Rosa.


Winner: Levi Leipheimer

The finish line: Leipheimer withstood an onslaught of attacks to

protect his lead over David Zabriskie and win the Tour of

California championship for the third consecutive year. After the

harrowing 96.8-mile trip from Rancho Bernardo to Escondido,

Leipheimer called it the "sweetest victory of the three."

In Santa Rosa, Stage 1: On a cold and rainy 107.6-mile trip from

Davis to Santa Rosa, Spaniard Francesco Mancebo attacked early and

raced to the finish line to take the leader's yellow jersey.


Winner: Michael Rogers

The finish line: Leading by only nine seconds at the start of the

stage, Rogers fended off the attacks of the riders who threatened

his overall lead on the 134.4-km trip from Westlake to Agoura


In Santa Rosa, Stage 2: Australian Brett Lancaster took the overall

lead by winning the 176.2-km race from Davis to Santa Rosa in cold,

wet and windy conditions.


Winner: Chris Horner

The finish line: The bunch sprint stage gave no challenge to the

yellow jersey of RadioShack's Chris Horner, who sealed his first

Amgen Tour of California overall victory 38 seconds ahead of

teammate Levi Leipheimer, with Garmin-Cerv??lo's Tom Danielson

taking third. The sprinter-friendly final stage took the riders on

a 132.4-km ride from Santa Clarita that ended in title sponsor

Amgen's headquarters city, Thousand Oaks.

In Santa Rosa: The Tour of California did not include Santa Rosa on

its itinerary for the 2011 event.


Winner: Robert Gesink

The finish line: Peter Sagan won five of the eight stages, but he

saw his chance at a Tour of California win disappear when Robert

Gesink launched an attack in the final 4.5 kilometers of the stage

and pulled away to win the stage and take the overall lead away

from Sagan.

In Santa Rosa, Stage 1: Levi Leipheimer earned the biggest cheers,

returning to competitive racing just six weeks after his left leg

was broken when he was hit by a car on a training ride crash in

Spain. The stage victory went to Peter Sagan.

-- Compiled by James Barger, The Press Democrat